Fridge planning guides. Shop on Amazon. Compare portable fridges

Explore

Best 12V Fridges with Removable Batteries

Compare seven 12V fridges whose Amazon listings name a detachable or magnetic battery pack, split into battery included and battery sold separately.

7 options compared

Sorted by editorial rating, descending.

  1. 1

    Setpower 12V Refrigerator 48 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car Fridge

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Magnetic plate for the optional Setpower PG216 magnetic battery pack; pack capacity and runtime not stated in the listing.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The pack is a separate purchase; budget for it and match the exact pack named in the listing before relying on off-vehicle cooling.
    OUR RATING
    9.2
    Excellent
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  2. 2

    Setpower 12V Refrigerator 59 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car Fridge

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Magnetic plate for the optional Setpower PG216 magnetic battery pack; pack capacity and runtime not stated in the listing.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The pack is a separate purchase; budget for it and match the exact pack named in the listing before relying on off-vehicle cooling.
    OUR RATING
    7.8
    Very good
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  3. 3

    ICECO APL35 Dual Zone Portable Fridge Freezer

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Magnetic front for the optional ICECO PB250 battery, sold separately; runtime not stated in the listing.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The pack is a separate purchase; budget for it and match the exact pack named in the listing before relying on off-vehicle cooling.
    OUR RATING
    7.6
    Very good
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  4. 4

    BougeRV 12V Refrigerator with 240Wh Battery CRD2 V2 52QT

    Exact listing researchBattery included
    • Battery included: 240Wh detachable LiFePO4 battery in the box; listing states up to 18 hours of runtime under certain conditions.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The battery is in the box, so the purchase covers off-vehicle use from day one; charging method and pack weight are not indicated in the stored listing.
    OUR RATING
    7.0
    Good
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  5. 5

    BougeRV 12V Refrigerator CRH20 21QT

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Works with a 240Wh detachable LiFePO4 battery sold separately; listing states up to 30 hours under certain conditions and that the 173Wh battery is not supported.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    Only the 240Wh pack is listed as compatible; the listing states the 173Wh BougeRV battery is not supported.
    OUR RATING
    5.3
    Fair
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  6. 6

    BougeRV 12V Refrigerator CRD2 V2.0 52QT

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Works with a 240Wh LiFePO4 battery sold separately; listing states up to 18 hours under certain conditions.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The pack is a separate purchase; budget for it and match the exact pack named in the listing before relying on off-vehicle cooling.
    OUR RATING
    4.3
    Fair
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon
  7. 7

    BougeRV 12V Refrigerator Rocky V3.0 55QT

    Exact listing researchBattery sold separately
    • Battery sold separately: Works with a 240Wh LiFePO4 battery sold separately; listing states up to 17 hours under certain conditions.
    • Confirm dimensions, connector ratings and included parts.
    • No temperature, energy-use or compatibility test is claimed.
    Show more +Show less -
    Consideration
    Check the exact cooling technology, compartment layout, exterior dimensions and power input in the manufacturer manual. A listing title is not evidence of tested temperature performance.
    Trade-off
    The pack is a separate purchase; budget for it and match the exact pack named in the listing before relying on off-vehicle cooling.
    OUR RATING
    4.1
    Fair
    Check exact configuration
    See price
    Available at Amazon

Portable refrigeration buying guide

What matters for this use

This page only lists 12V fridges whose Amazon listing text names a detachable or magnetic battery pack for that exact model. One listing includes the battery in the box: the BougeRV CRD2 V2 52QT with 240Wh Battery. The other six are battery-ready and the pack is sold separately. Runtime figures are seller statements made "under certain conditions", not our measurements; where a listing gives no runtime, we say it is not indicated.

Use the fit planner for a first space check and read the fridge buying guide.

How selection works

These are documentation-rated editorial discovery lists. Road-trip and camping pages show separate groups of five refrigerator listings; the accessory page shows five direct accessories. Within each category, selection is deterministic by listing slug, with the second group used for camping to broaden discovery. Position is not a performance ranking or an endorsement for a particular vehicle. Title sorting changes display order only.

We have not measured cooling speed, noise, battery drain or durability. Listing features remain seller statements. A product appears here because of its catalog category, not because we verified suitability for your trip.

Where the exact Amazon listing text states an internal capacity with explicit units, our documented spec-fit score is 100 × [0.7 × min(capacity / 60 quarts, 1) + 0.3 × (dual-zone stated ? 1 : 0)], rounded to a whole number before entering the 20% documentation term of the review blend. Capacity uses an explicit quart figure, or an explicit litre figure converted at 1 L = 1.0567 qt. The dual-zone term is 1 only when the listing text states a dual-zone or dual-temperature design, otherwise 0. Listings without a stated capacity use the documentation completeness score below instead; ties use the product slug. This index reflects documented capacity claims only — not cooling performance, power draw or price, and it is not a customer review.

Where a listing has no documented spec-fit inputs, our documentation completeness score is 100 × [0.5 × min(documented feature bullets / 8, 1) + 0.3 × min(product images / 5, 1) + 0.2 × (brand documented ? 1 : 0)], rounded to a whole number before entering the 20% documentation term when review data is available. Every input is read from the stored Amazon listing record, so the same listing always produces the same score. This measures how completely the listing is documented — it is not a performance test, a quality measurement or a customer review.

Where Amazon publicly displays customer reviews for a listing (average star rating and review count captured from the public product page), the raw editorial score is 100 × [0.45 × (Amazon average / 5) × min(review count / 50, 1) + 0.35 × min(log10(1 + review count) / log10(1 + 5000), 1) + 0.20 × documentation score / 100]. The confidence factor min(review count / 50, 1) damps averages based on very few reviews, and the logarithmic volume term rewards large public review volumes, so widely and highly reviewed listings rank ahead of thinly reviewed ones. Listings with no captured public review data use the documentation score alone. This combined index reflects the public Amazon reputation and the listing documentation — it is not a physical test and not our own product testing.

Formula-calculated scores use the raw result divided by ten. The publisher-assigned score below is a separate editorial judgment, not the output of the Amazon-review formula. The published shortlist and its order are retained.

Publisher-assigned rating: Setpower 12V Refrigerator 48 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car Fridge: 9.2/10 — manually assigned by Elias, the publisher, as the editorial rating of the first-ranked listing on this comparison (publisher_assigned). It is a subjective editorial judgment, not the output of the Amazon-review formula, not an Amazon customer rating and not a physical test result. The value sits between 9.1 and 9.4 and is stepped from the listing's unchanged formula score, as described in our methodology. The shortlist and its order, the Amazon review counts, customer averages and underlying calculated scores are unchanged; cards, summaries and table use this same displayed rating.

Battery included or sold separately

FridgeBattery statusListing statement
Setpower 12V Refrigerator 48 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car FridgeBattery sold separatelycan work with optional accessories like the Setpower PG216 magnetic battery pack
Setpower 12V Refrigerator 59 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car FridgeBattery sold separatelycan work with optional accessories like the Setpower PG216 magnetic battery pack
ICECO APL35 Dual Zone Portable Fridge FreezerBattery sold separatelyPair it with an optional ICECO PB250 magnetic battery (sold separately) for extended runtime
BougeRV 12V Refrigerator with 240Wh Battery CRD2 V2 52QTBattery includedIncludes a 240Wh detachable battery for extended use, delivering up to 18 hours of runtime under certain conditions
BougeRV 12V Refrigerator CRH20 21QTBattery sold separatelyCompatible with 240Wh detachable LiFePO4 battery (sold separately) for up to 30 hours runtime under certain conditions
BougeRV 12V Refrigerator CRD2 V2.0 52QTBattery sold separatelyWorks with our 240Wh LiFePO4 battery (sold separately) to extend runtime up to 18 hours under certain conditions
BougeRV 12V Refrigerator Rocky V3.0 55QTBattery sold separatelyDesigned to work with BougeRV’s 240Wh LiFePO4 battery (sold separately) for extended use. Provides up to 17 hours of runtime under certain conditions

Removable battery FAQ

Which fridge on this page comes with its removable battery?

Only the BougeRV 12V Refrigerator with 240Wh Battery CRD2 V2 52QT (ASIN B0GJZ3N8WB). Its listing says it includes a 240Wh detachable LiFePO4 battery, and the package list names 1 × 240Wh Battery.

Are batteries included with the other six fridges?

No. The BougeRV Rocky V3.0, CRH20 and CRD2 V2.0 listings say the 240Wh LiFePO4 battery is sold separately, the ICECO APL35 listing says the PB250 magnetic battery is sold separately, and the two Setpower listings describe the PG216 magnetic battery pack as an optional accessory.

How long does a removable battery run these fridges?

Only the BougeRV listings state a runtime, always "under certain conditions": up to 18 hours for the CRD2 V2 52QT with its included 240Wh battery, up to 30 hours for the CRH20, up to 18 hours for the CRD2 V2.0 and up to 17 hours for the Rocky V3.0 with the separate 240Wh pack. The ICECO and Setpower listings do not indicate a runtime.

Does every BougeRV battery fit the CRH20?

No. The CRH20 21QT listing says it is compatible with the 240Wh detachable LiFePO4 battery and that the 173Wh battery is not supported by this product.

Why is a fridge without an included battery ranked first?

Order follows our published scoring formula, which blends the stored Amazon rating and review count with listed capacity and zone data. Battery inclusion is shown as a label on every card rather than used as a score input, and the first-ranked rating is a publisher-assigned editorial value explained in the method section.

Limits before buying

Confirm the selected Amazon variant, included cables, operating limits and manufacturer manual. Price, stock, delivery, customer ratings and discounts are not reproduced. Use an independent temperature check for food storage and do not rely on a voltage cutoff as a food-safety alarm.

Read camping food temperatures and power connections before relying on a new setup.

At a glance

How we compare fridge listings

Our source-led guidance explains buying questions. It does not award numeric scores or claim hands-on testing. Exact listing identifiers and original product images come from Amazon; manuals and public food-safety guidance support the editorial guides.

Read the complete methodology.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

What our comparisons check

Freshness has limits

Amazon images expire at the supplied deadline and never more than 24 hours after retrieval. Refreshing requires a maintenance operation.

Exact models only

Dimensions, power requirements and accessories must match the exact manufacturer model. Similar names do not establish a fit.

No invented scores

We leave unverified performance unknown. Affiliate commission, customer ratings and unsupported efficiency claims do not become an editorial rating.

Exact listing checklist

#1 IN THIS COMPARISON

Our top pick in this comparison

Setpower 12V Refrigerator 48 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car Fridge

OUR RATING9.2/10Editorial score

See the exact model, current price and included equipment on Amazon.

See price on Amazon for Setpower 12V Refrigerator 48 Quart Electric Cooler Dual Zone Car Fridge (opens in a new tab)Available at Amazon

Search